top of page
  • Writer's pictureliv_study_2020

Dealing with time management

Let's start with the understanding the term 'Time management'. What is this term and why is it important in our daily lives?


Time management is the process of organising and planning how to divide your time between specific activities. The main outcome of working smarter is the effectiveness and how you can achieve more done in less time.

 

The benefits are both factual and personal:

  • Time management has been a struggle for me. However, during these uncertain times, I have had the time to experiment different forms of time management (This will be explained later on). This has given me more confidence with work ethic, managing my own time and to not over work myself.

  • It gives you less stress in the future.

  • An increase in efficiency and productivity.

  • More opportunities to achieve important life and career goals.

If you don't manage your time, from experience, it can have some consequences:

  • There would be a lack of productivity.

  • An increase in stress levels.

  • Missed deadlines.

  • Lack of motivation and organisation.

 

Personal tips on time management


Throughout this blog, I will explain my own personal tips and resources I use to support my organisation. An important tip to remember is to try not to waste time that affects your mental health e.g. procrastination.


Managing your study time


Plan your learning

  • Individual assessments- Break it down into different parts. Take time to understand and interpret the instructions at the beginning. Allow time to review and edit your work at the end.

  • When you work independently online: Establish clear timescales to complete your assignments. Plan your time backwards from the assignment deadline. This can help you to identify exactly how long you should spend on the task.

Using google calendar

Since July, I have been using Google calendar on my laptop and on my phone in order to plan a routine in preparation for university. My advice would be to plan your essential priorities and any events first before looking at your free time. I usually make a 2-3 hours session for each task.






 

How to make a smart week plan?


Achieving your goals can be a difficult path if you have no guide. SMART plan makes sure that these goals are clear and reachable. Here is a SMART week plan to help with your studies.



SMART week plan
.docx
Download DOCX • 51KB

  • Specific- Make goal clear and specific.

  • Measurable- Track your progress and stay motivated.

  • Achievable- Realistic and attainable- Stretch your abilities and remain possible.

  • Relevant- Ensuring your goals matter to you.

  • Time-bound- Target date.

  1. Specific

  • What do I want to accomplish?

  • Why is this goal important?

  • Who is involved?

  • Where is it located?

  • Which resources or limits are involved?

Example- Imagine that you are a undergraduate studying history, and you would like to become a museum curator. Use these questions to motivate yourself and to understand the reason why you would like to be a museum curator. What do you need to accomplish in order to become a museum curator? Have you researched your goal in mind?


2. Measurable

Being measurable will help you to stay focused and meeting deadlines.

  • How much?

  • How many?

  • How will I know when it is accomplished?

Example- You might measure your goal of acquiring skills to become a museum curator by researching the suitable areas you need to understand the job role.During your studies, you need to determine how many assignments or artciles/books you need to read, and determine a deadline.


3. Achievable

  • How can I accomplish this goal?

  • How realistic is the goal, based on other constraints, such as financial factors?

4. Relevant

  • Does this seem worthwhile?

  • Is this the right time?

  • Does this match your effort/needs?

  • Am I the right person to reach this goal?

  • Is it applicable in current socio-economic environment?

Example- Is it the right time to work towards additional qualifications? Will your studies help you become a museum curator?


5. Time-Bound

This helps to prevent everyday tasks from taking priority over your longer-term goals.

  • When?

  • What can I do 6 months from now?

  • What can I do 6 weeks from now?

  • What can I do today?

Example- Today, I need to further read on books relating to 'Representing the Past' and sort out my organisation. 6 weeks from now, I need to learn the basic grammar of Latin.


What are my long-term goals and why are they important?


Personally, these unprecedented times have given me the opportunity to plan my long term goals.

  • I am hoping be either a museum curator, an archivist or historian.

  • I would like to be involved in movements and to educate myself further about Antisemitism, racism and homophobia. This is so I can help to reduce these issues online and face to face

  • I would like to improve my public speaking and my social skills.

  • I would like to improve my time management.

  • To become fluent in German and to understand Latin texts.

I hope this blog and the available resource supports your time management in the future, along with your future studies and goals.

 

Websites that I used and for more information:

23 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page